Interview With BL1Y, Part 3

Q:  You recently moved back home with your parents, care to elaborate?

A:  First, I try not to call it home.  I really need to keep myself thinking of this as just a pit stop.  Just as I try not to call myself a lawyer, I call this my parents’ house, not my home.

But basically what happened was pretty simple.  I received no severance from my job, didn’t find work in New York, and couldn’t pay my rent.  I’d only been working a little less than a year when I got notice of my lay off, just over a year on my last day, so my savings were pretty meager.  That didn’t leave me with much other options than to move back in with my parents.

Q:  What’s it like being back under the same roof as your parents?

A:  It’s mostly just boring.  There’s not a whole lot to do here.  A few of my friends from high school live here, but a lot are married, some have kids, they all have jobs.  Sort of limits who I can go out cavorting with.  I don’t want to fall into that stereotype of the guy who moves back in with his parents and just sits around playing video games and watching TV all day.  But what else is there really to do?  Applying for job just doesn’t eat up enough of the day.  There’s just not many jobs to apply to, and once you get used to writing cover letters, it takes just a few minutes to send off another application.  I’m trying to use this as an opportunity to get in shape, but really, I just don’t feel the motivation.

Maybe if I land an interview for a great job and blow it because I can’t fit into my suits any more.  That’d probably do the trick.

Q:  In the first run of this blog, you had tried to portray yourself as a bit of a playboy, living it up in the big city, but that didn’t pan out as expected.  What should we expect this time around?

A:  Yeah, when I’d started I was a young attorney making bank.  I’d just come out of a great relationship that managed to end amicably.  [Editor’s note: BL1Y’s girlfriend moved to the west coast to pursue a graduate degree and neither thought a long distance relationship would work.] I had a good job, a pretty sweet downtown apartment, was in decent shape…I figured things would be fairly easy.

Damn was I wrong though.  My game had turned to mush.  I couldn’t even get hookers to take my dollar.  It was bad.  Then the layoff hit, I consumed nothing but beer and pizza for about three months, plumped up a little, and then once I knew I was definitely moving home I just stopped caring about meeting girls in New York.

Q:  So what are your thoughts on the dating scene back home, or rather back in your home town?

A:  It’s still a bit early to tell.  The holiday time is obviously weird.  But so far I’m liking it.  Girls here are definitely cuter than back in New York.  On average at least.  There’s a higher percentage of attractive girls, but you lack the five-foot-ten elegant knock out.  Lots of gorgeous girls here, without a doubt, there’s just one specific type that’s missing.

It’s been easier meeting girls here so far though.  Part of it is that girls here hang out more in sports bars than in New York.  They don’t think of the places as trashy and they don’t think of the guys as complete losers for hanging out there.  It’s just the normal thing to do here.  So, having more girls where I like to go helps.  People here are friendlier, and they have to be.  Odds are a total stranger at a bar is friends with one of your friends, so you don’t get many people being complete jackasses as much.

Q:  Any big disadvantages?

A:  Yeah.  I can’t walk to the bars.  My parents live a good ways out, about a twenty minute drive from the downtown area with all three of the city’s bars.  I can’t drink like I used to.  I mean, I can, and I do, it’s just a much worse idea now.

But, I still like the bars here more.  It’s not them though, I think it’s me.  I’ve done a good job of getting myself to think of this as a pit stop, not a real home.  So, when I’m out at a bar, it’s like nothing matters, rejection doesn’t matter.  There’s no inhibition, I can just talk to whatever girl, not nervous at all.  Nothing to lose.  Hopefully I’ll have some fun before I move on.  Not sure where though, I can’t bring girl’s back to my parents’ house.  That’d be creepy.  I’ve managed to hook up a couple times on trips back home though.  Once at the girl’s place, one in my car, once in the girl’s car.

Q:  On the first run of this blog, there was some question about how much you actually get laid.  Care to comment?

A:  Yeah, no, that’s fair I guess.  I was definitely in a dry spell.  I did much better when I was broke and living in the ghetto.  Go figure.

Q:  Mind if we ask your number?

A:  18.

Q:  That’s pretty decent considering your performance lately.

A:  Yeah, I guess.  Higher than the average male for his life time, and I’m still mid-twenties.

Q:  But not so good lately?

A:  Like I said, it’s been a big rough.  Some bad luck, some bad game.  Go figure.

Q:  In fact, there hasn’t been a new notch since your last girlfriend, correct?

A:  Yeah…I suppose that’s true.

Q:  And even with her, it’s been how many months?

A:  Can we move on to another topic?

Q:  Almost eight months, isn’t that right?

A:  Okay, sorry, yeah, I’m done, this is over.  This interview is over.

Leave a Reply

